President 2018-05-04T14:44:40+00:00


Previous Presidents   here

President Ross Brown 2017-2918






IMG_0136 (Medium)

President Juris Jakovics 2016-2017

President Juris joined Rotary in 2006.  He has served on various committees, particularly on the Indigenous and the International committees and participated in club activities as time and energy permitted (having to take time out for recurring cancer treatment).

Juris spent 30 odd years in the public service in various roles including overseas service.  But it is his community work over the years that he values most.  He has been a member of the Nusa Tenggara Association, a Canberra-based development aid not-for-profit organisation, for over 20 years in various roles including a stint early on as vice-president, working up funding proposals, and designing an accounting system, as well as going on field trips in eastern Indonesia more times than he can remember.

Juris was a member of a Lions club a couple of decades ago where he had a term as treasurer.  He has been active for several decades in the Canberra Latvian community with stints as president, is a vice-president of the Latvian Federation of Australia and New Zealand, and has served in several minor roles in that community over the years since coming to Canberra in 1977, including as treasurer of an Australia-wide Latvian Cultural Festival held in Canberra over a decade ago, and participating in several world tours with an Australian-Latvian folk ensemble in the 1980s and early 1990s.

Juris’ interests are eclectic.  Finance would have to be on the bottom rung, but he believes he can turn his mind to anything.  This club and what it can achieve is his primary interest for the year 2016-17.

Ron delivering his plans

  IPP Ron Rabey 2015-2016

President Ron joined Rotary in 1988… since then he has served as director of most avenues of service in the club, concentrating mainly on Youth and has chaired this committee many times. He also was on the district committee for Youth and was an assistant governor during 1992/93.

Ron first served as President in 1991/2.

A retailer for almost 50 years, Ron was a board member of the Canberra Chamber of Commerce, the Woden Community Committee, has represented his industry at CIT , and was an active member of the Industry Training Committee for Retail.
In 1993 he was awarded a Churchill Fellowship to Study Retail in America.
Along with Tony Waring he sponsored our Rotary Golf day for 20 years and was also one of the major sponsors for the Victor Chang Golf Day and Hartley House.